call  +676 25050

call  +676 25051


Climate Change Program


Climate Change Program/Division

Tonga, similar to the other Small Island Developing States is extremely vulnerable to the impacts of climate change and this is principally due to its geographical, geological and socio-economic characteristics. Climate change poses serious adverse impacts on the environment, people of Tonga and their livelihoods. Scientific findings revealed that these impacts will be exacerbated in the future.

The Government of Tonga understands the significant detrimental impacts of climate change to sustainable development of the country hence considered these issues as high priorities in its National Plan (Tonga  Strategic Development Framework, 2011-2014) and its budgetary processes.

During the financial year of July 2012-June 2013, Government has allocated budget to establish the Climate Change Division within the Ministry of Lands, Environment, Climate Change and Natural Resources.

Mission : To increase resilience if Tonga and its environment to climate change impacts and to phase out the Ozone Depleting Substances in the Country
The Climate Change Division is comprised of five (5) subprograms:  (i) The Joint National Action Plan on Climate Change Adaptation and Disaster Risk Management (JNAP on CCADRM) (ii) Greenhouse Gas Inventory; (iii) Vulnerability and Adaptation; (iv) National Communication and  (v) National Ozone Layer Protection (Figure 1).

There are twenty two (22) staff employed under the Climate Change Division, 2 permanent and 20 project staff.

Permanent Staff

Ms Luisa Tuiafitu Malolo  is the Head of the Climate Change Program/Division. She was contracted by the Ministry in the last eleven years as the National Coordinator for the Initial and Second National Communication Projects and also the Team Leader for the Secretariat of the Joint National Action Plan on Climate Change Adaptation and Disaster Risk Management.  In February 2013, Ms Malolo was officially appointed as the Deputy Director for Climate Change at the Ministry.

Ms Losana Latu is the other permanent staff employed under this Division. In 2012, Ms Latu was employed by the Ministry as the Project Officer under the Invasive Alien Species Project. In September 2013, she was officially appointed as the Head of the Vulnerability and Adaptation Section under the Climate Change Division.

Project Staff (20 staff).

There are nine (9) climate change programs/projects implemented  with a total of  20 contracted staff employed under the Climate Change Division.. Figure 2  illustrates  number of staff employed in each  program/project.